Use Case - Cancel Previously Submitted Patient Summary

This use case provides the capability for the HCP to cancel (retract) a patient summary that was previously submitted in error.

Pre-Condition 1: HCP is working with a patient chart that contains a successfully submitted patient summary.

Basic Flow: Submit Patient Summary Cancellation

1. Initiate Cancellation of Previously Submitted Patient Summary

HCP chooses to cancel a previously submitted patient summary.

  • Business Rule – Cancellation of Entire Patient Summary Record: The retract or cancel action is applied to the entire patient summary record as captured in the patient chart from a prior submission to the provincial Hub service. (Corrections to any portion of a previous submission are applied instead through the Update Previously Submitted Patient Summary use case.)

2. Remove Patient Summary from Patient’s Chart

POS removes or invalidates the submitted patient summary from within the patient’s chart.

  • Business Rule – Eliminate Patient Summary Record from Patient Chart: The submitted patient summary as a record is removed from the chart, while leaving the sourced chart entries intact.
    • If any authoring provider later chooses to produce a new patient summary for this patient, any previous curation will not be available.
    • The unique identifier assigned to the previously submitted patient summary is retained as part of the cancelled record. It cannot be re-used if a new patient summary is generated in future for this patient or for any other patient chart.

3. Submit Patient Summary Cancellation

POS submits a patient summary cancellation to the provincial service.

  • Business Rule – Assemble Cancelled Patient Summary Data: Submission contains the minimum data necessary for a patient summary cancellation.
    • The cancellation is submitted with the same patient summary identifier as the previous submission to the provincial service.
  • Business Rule – Patient Summary Cancellation Metadata: The following metadata is included for a cancelled patient summary:
    • Submission date and time
    • Submission type – patient summary (with related bundle information)
    • Submission status – ‘entered in error’

4. End

Use Case ends.

Alternate Flow: Cancel Patient Summary for Deleted Patient Chart

This flow is an alternate entry into this use case, when a patient’s chart containing a previously submitted patient summary record is deleted or deactivated in the POS.

1. Apply Chart Deletion to Previously Submitted Patient Summary

POS triggers cancellation of the patient summary record as part of the patient chart deletion / deactivation.

2. Branch

Processing continues at the Submit Patient Summary Cancellation step of the Basic Flow.